Southern Horror Yahoo Group

Member Pages

Now available...

ME10 cover

Find us on Facebook


Shane Jiraiya Cummings

Shane Jiraiya Cummings has been acknowledged as "one of Australia's leading voices in dark fantasy". Shane is the author of The Smoke Dragon, Requiem for the Burning GodPhoenix and the Darkness of Wolves, and the four volumes of the Apocrypha Sequence (Deviance, Divinity, Insanity,and Inferno). He has had more than seventy short stories published in Australia, USA, and Europe, and his work has been translated into French, Spanish, and Polish.

His shorter stories are showcased in Shards, a dark flash fiction collection illustrated by Andrew J. McKiernan (Brimstone Press, 2009). Shane's affinity with very short stories through Shards and edited publications such as Shadow Box, Black Box, and Shadowed Realms has seen him acknowledged as a "master of flash fiction". A full length collection, The Abandonment of Grace and Everything After, is forthcoming.

With Angela Challis, Shane co-founded Brimstone Press and Black: Australian Dark Culture Magazine. Shane has edited several anthologies, and he was the founder and managing editor of HorrorScope: The Australian Dark Fiction Blog and the guest editor (with Angela) of Midnight Echo Issue #2.

Shane served the Australian Horror Writers Association as Vice President from 2008 to 2010, as Media Manager from 2006 to 2010, as an Australian Shadows judge in 2007 and 2008, and Awards Director from 2009 to 2011. He was also Convenor of the Aurealis Award Horror panel in 2007 and a graduate of the Clarion South SF writers' workshop in 2005.

His major achievements on the AHWA Committee include expanding the Australian Shadows Award into Australia's premier horror fiction award by introducing prize money and additional categories and spearheading the united genre author campaign (uniting AHWA with the Romance Writers of Australia and Sisters in Crime Australia) against the Productivity Commission's recommendation to abolish Parallel Importation Restrictions. 

More information about Shane (including his free fiction) can be found at his website